Know about the key points related to the declaration of Ladakh as a tribal area for UPSC CSE/IAS prelims and mains

Contributed by
Username akashaky
on 12/09/2019

forum Share share

The National Commission for schedule tribe NCST has recommended that Ladakh should be recognized as a tribal area under the 6th schedule of the Indian Constitution. In this article, we will discuss the key points related to this news and will discuss the key provisions of the Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Advantages of declaring Ladakh as Tribal Area

  • According to NCST the status of tribal areas of the Ladakh region will help democratic devolution. (transfer of power from central government to the state, regional or local level)

  • It will also protect the distinct culture and identity of Ladakh.

  • The local development of the region will be promoted because of the faster transfer of funds from the state and the center.

  • The people of Ladakh have been demanding the tribal area status for a very long time because the Ladakh region has huge tribal population.

The discussion over Ladakh

  • The NCST was considering whether the Ladakh should be declared as tribal area (under 6th schedule of Indian Constitution) or should be declared as scheduled area (under 5th schedule).

  • But after consulting with all the concerned ministries the NCST decided that Ladakh should be declared as the tribal area under the 6th schedule of the Indian Constitution.

  • Note that the ministry of home affairs is the central authority to declare an area as a tribal area after consulting with the union cabinet.

Key provisions of the Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution

  • The sixth schedule provides special provisions for the administration in tribal-dominated areas in four states(Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram)
  • According to article 244 and 6th schedule of the Indian Constitution, the tribal-dominated areas in these states can be declared as Tribal Areas by the home ministry based upon the recommendation of NCST.
  • The Governor of these four states has the power to declare a tribal-dominated district as tribal areas and these regions can be set up as an autonomous region.
  • After the declaration of an autonomous region, the creation of autonomous District council and Regional Council takes place. These councils are provided with the autonomy in the the the field of administration, law-making judiciary, and financial powers.

Similar Posts